Mark honoured to continue work as Health Minister, as new Cabinet announced by First Minister

The First Minister of Wales, Carwyn Jones, announced last week a reshuffle of his cabinet. He said his new cabinet was ready to focus on the tough choices Wales needs to create world class public services, and to build on the recent improvements in the Welsh economy.

Leighton Andrews returns to Government as Minister for Public Services. Carl Sargeant is now the Minister for Natural Resources and Lesley Griffiths becomes the Minister for Communities & Tackling Poverty. Edwina Hart, Huw Lewis, Mark Drakeford retain their current responsibilities, with Jane Hutt adding Government Business to her Finance role. Janice Gregory continues as Chief Whip.

Established Deputy Ministers Ken Skates and Vaughan Gething will be given enhanced roles to cover Culture, Sport & Tourism and Health respectively.

The First Minister retains responsibility for the Welsh language, constitutional affairs and promoting Wales abroad.

First Minister, Carwyn Jones, said

“This is a cabinet equipped with the skills and experience to deliver the changes that Wales needs in the crucial months ahead. We promised this would be a term of delivery and I am proud of what we have achieved together in the last three years.  Unemployment is lower here than in England. We have seen our best ever inward investment figures, record exam results, and ground-breaking legislation. However, there is still a huge amount for us to do, especially in the delivery of our public services reform programme.

“I give my heartfelt thanks to John Griffiths, Jeff Cuthbert and Gwenda Thomas as they leave Government. I have valued their hard work, advice and loyalty and I look forward to their continued contribution to Welsh politics and public life. I welcome Julie James to her first role in Government, and welcome back Leighton Andrews to the cabinet.”


Cabinet in full:

Rt Hon Carwyn Jones AM – First Minister of Wales

Edwina Hart AM OStJ MBE – Minister for Economy, Science and Transport

Prof Mark Drakeford AM – Minister for Health & Social Services

Huw Lewis AM – Minister for Education and Skills

Jane Hutt AM – Minister for Finance & Government Business

Leighton Andrews AM – Minister for Public Services

Lesley Griffiths AM – Minister for Communities & Tackling Poverty

Carl Sargeant AM – Minister for Natural Resources


Vaughan Gething AM – Deputy Minister for Health

Ken Skates AM – Deputy Minister for Culture, Sport & Tourism

Rebecca Evans AM – Deputy Minister for Farming & Food

Julie James AM – Deputy Minister for Skills & Technology

Janice Gregory AM – Chief Whip